Theory of the drone 1: Genealogies

Nice to see the critical engagement and analysis of drones steadily become richer. Here’s another via geographical imaginations

geographical imaginations

Grégoire ChamayouThis is the first of a series of posts as I work my way through Grégoire Chamayou‘s Théorie du drone (2013), which has finally arrived on my desk.  I’ve loosely summarised the project and its relation to Chamayou’s previous work before, and in these notes I’ll combine a summary of his argument with some extended readings and excerpts from his sources and some comments of my own.  I hope readers will find these useful; they are an aide-memoire for me, and a way of working out some of my own ideas too, but do let me know if all this is helpful (especially for those with no French).

I’m pleased to say that he draws on several of my essays about drone warfare, including ‘From a view to a kill’, ‘Lines of descent’, and even ‘The everywhere war’ (all available under the DOWNLOADS tab), so I won’t re-trace…

View original post 1,670 more words

This entry was posted in Drones, Genealogy, IR Theory, Philosophy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

