Where Souls Dwell

Laila Shawa’s work is timely and compelling, and I appreciate Derek Gregory bringing it to a wider audience.

geographical imaginations

Laila Shawa: Where souls dwell 4

I’ve had a message from Laila Shawa, whose work I noted earlier, enclosing one of her latest projects (and generously allowing me to show her work here).  Where Souls Dwell (above) is from her Gun series and speaks directly to one of my very first posts (on the arms trade); it shows the AK-47, and Leila explains it like this:

Next to Drones, this gun is the biggest killing machine in the World. Due to its cheap production by everyone, it is in the hands of everyone, including children!! The Butterflies (in World mythology) represent the souls killed by this gun, and their return to the place (or cause) of their death.

I provided a brief bibliography of work on the AK-47 and the trade in ‘small arms’ in my original post, but I wasn’t aware of the way in which artists had engaged with this deadly…

View original post 328 more words

This entry was posted in Art, Drones, Geography, History, Peace, Weapons. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

